Options

How do I add padding/margin?

2»

Comments

  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    He just added another div. So you need this:

    HTML
    [html]
    <div class="photo-box">
    <div class="box">
    <div class="box-text">text here</div>
    </div>
    </div>
    [/html]

    CSS:
    .photo-box {
        background-image: url('http://www.joinrats.com/photos/1206527101_eXWDV-L.png');
        padding: 20px;
        }
    .box {
        background: #fff;    
        opacity: 0.8;
        -ms-filter: "progidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=80)";
        /* For IE8 */
        filter: alpha(opacity=80);
        /* For IE5-7 */    
        }
    .photo-box, .box {
        width: 800px;
        height: auto;
        margin: 0 auto;
        }
    .box-text {
        margin: 0;
        padding: 5px;    
        font-size: ;
        color: #000;
        }
    
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    Thank you so much. Now I'm back to excitement to implement this. It will take me a couple of days though as I'm immersed in code on several pages.

    When i was reading the thread from 2011, I thought, why does this feel like a conversation from 2005??? How could only 2 years have gone by??? Then - "mimicry" for learning only goes so far, doesn't it, as I see much of his early code is exactly what you gave me. {shakes head ruefully}
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    ChancyRat wrote: »
    Thank you so much. Now I'm back to excitement to implement this. It will take me a couple of days though as I'm immersed in code on several pages.

    When i was reading the thread from 2011, I thought, why does this feel like a conversation from 2005??? How could only 2 years have gone by??? Then - "mimicry" for learning only goes so far, doesn't it, as I see much of his early code is exactly what you gave me. {shakes head ruefully}

    Looking at your current site (HTML/CSS code), I don't see the extra div. Doesn't matter now, as long as you use the code I gave you.
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    Yes, I may have decided that as it was, that gallery content was okay with the text.
    One question before I spend 4 hours modifying my page (because I actually have boxes inside boxes, not just one layer), in this, the RED:
    <div class="photo-box">
    <div class="box">
    <div class="box-text">text here</div>
    </div>
    </div>

    this content can be html, right? "Text here" is not being literal, as in "plain text".
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    ChancyRat wrote: »
    Yes, I may have decided that as it was, that gallery content was okay with the text.
    One question before I spend 4 hours modifying my page (because I actually have boxes inside boxes, not just one layer), in this, the RED:



    this content can be html, right? "Text here" is not being literal, as in "plain text".

    No HTML/CSS there, just plain old text. For that page, you should only have one HTML/CSS box.
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    No HTML/CSS there, just plain old text. For that page, you should only have one HTML/CSS box.

    I'm so glad I asked - but - confusion sets in. Yes, I have only one HTML content block.
    But in the HTML, I have multiple boxes with content.
    The narrative is coded with HTML.
    In the link I gave you to that page, that is HTML too.
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    You really don't need multiple HTML/CSS boxes on one page. Just one HTML/CSS box will do the trick.
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    To be more clear:
    I have:
    - main background image (has opacity)
    - main box with background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this box
    - sub-box with another background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this sub-box

    Then repeats of these:
    - html inside this box
    - sub-box with another background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this sub-box
    - html inside this box
    - sub-box with another background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this sub-box

    I thought in the sections with HTML, jfriend's code would keep the narrative non-opaque?
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    ChancyRat wrote: »
    To be more clear:
    I have:
    - main background image (has opacity)
    - main box with background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this box
    - sub-box with another background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this sub-box
    Then repeats of these:
    - html inside this box
    - sub-box with another background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this sub-box
    - html inside this box
    - sub-box with another background color (would like opacity but currently doesn't have it)
    - html inside this sub-box
    I thought in the sections with HTML, jfriend's code would keep the narrative non-opaque?

    Well you lost me. ne_nau.gif
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    GASP that is not good. :(
    So sorry.
    Does the attached image help?

    The question is, you see the text inside the blue and yellow areas. Doesn't this extra div that jfriend wrote, apply to this content? I'm unclear why you are saying only plain text can be inside the Div.

    In order:
    background image (stained glass)
    blue box
    has html text inside
    Yellow box
    Has html inside
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 24, 2013
    Here you go, just one HTML/CSS box:

    HTML:
    [html]
    <div id="stained-glass-window">
    <div class="large-box">
    <div class="large-box-text">
    <p>Here is text on the stained glass window box.</p>
    </div>
    <div class="small-box">
    <div class="small-box-text">
    <p>This is text on top box of the stain glass window box.</p>
    </div>
    </div>
    <div class="large-box-text">
    <p>Here is text on the stained glass window box below another box.</p>
    </div>
    <div class="small-box">
    <div class="small-box-text">
    <p>This is text on top box of the stain glass window box.</p>
    </div>
    </div> <div class="small-box">
    <div class="small-box-text">
    <p>This is text on top box of the stain glass window box.</p>
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>
    [/html]

    CSS:
    #stained-glass-window {
        padding: 25px;
        margin: 10px;
        background-image: url('http://www.joinrats.com/photos/1206527101_eXWDV-L.png');
        border: 5px solid #333;    
        opacity: 0.8;
        -ms-filter: "progidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=80)";   /* For IE8 */
        filter: alpha(opacity=80);   /* For IE5-7 */ 
        }
    .large-box {
        background: #f00;
        border: 5px solid #000;
        padding: 30px;
        margin: 5px;
        opacity: 0.8;
        -ms-filter: "progidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=80)";   /* For IE8 */
        filter: alpha(opacity=80);   /* For IE5-7 */ 
        }
    .large-box-text {
        color: #fff;
        }
    .small-box {
        background: #fff;
        border: 5px solid #000;
        padding: 20px;
        margin: 10px 30px;
        opacity: 0.8;
        -ms-filter: "progidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=80)";   /* For IE8 */
        filter: alpha(opacity=80);   /* For IE5-7 */     
        }
    .small-box-text {
        color: #000;    
        }
    

    You can add/remove the HTML (not CSS) .small-box divs to create more boxes or remove boxes.

    Example: http://mike.imagesinthebackcountry.com/Test-Page/
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 25, 2013
    I have a new private gallery named in your honor with this code, Mike. :)
    Thank you so much.
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 25, 2013
    ChancyRat wrote: »
    I have a new private gallery named in your honor with this code, Mike. :)
    Thank you so much.

    You're welcome. Can't wait for the unveil. Merry Christmas! thumb.gif
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2013
    Can I make the border an oval?
    Merry Christmas to you too, Mike.
    I am about 2 pages and some misc. checking away from switching. I counted 110 major projects I completed.
    :wow

    I have one of the multiple boxes on one page, that is broken. I have done extensive checking and no can find the error. After I unveil I might ask you to look at the page?

    One question on the simple banner, can I make the rectangle, an oval?
    Laughing.gif W3schools is currently down. :(
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2013
    I found the oval code....
    I separated the box from the background image in order to reduce the width of the box to accommodate the oval, and discovered in doing that that your original code, which was this:
    .footer, .box {
    width: 890px;
    height: 70px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }

    caused the two parts to top-align.
    In making the oval larger, the rectangle box is no longer centered vertically.
    How would I bring the text box to center in the oval?
    .banner {
    background-image: url(/photos/abcd.png);
    background-repeat: repeat;
    -moz-border-radius: 300px / 50%;
    -webkit-border-radius: 300px / 50%;
    border-radius: 300px / 50%;
    }

    .box {
    background: #fbf2c9;
    border: 5px ridge skyblue;
    border-image-outset: 0 0 0;
    opacity: .9;
    -ms-filter: "progidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=9 0)";
    filter: alpha(opacity=90);
    }

    .banner {
    width: 890px;
    height: 110px;
    margin-left: auto;
    margin-right: auto;
    }

    .box {
    width: 800px;
    height: 60px;
    margin: auto;
    }
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2013
    The image of what I see is like this:
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2013
    I might have figured it out. It looks good on my screen but I have no idea if the relative relationship between the graphic and the box will sustain itself everywhere.
    .box {
    background: #fbf2c9;
    border: 5px ridge skyblue;
    border-image-outset: 0 0 0 0;
    position: relative;
    top: 20px;
    opacity: .9;
    -ms-filter: "progidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=9 0)";
    filter: alpha(opacity=90);
    }
  • Options
    leftquarkleftquark Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,784 Many Grins
    edited December 29, 2013
    Unveil already!!!! :P
    dGrin Afficionado
    Former SmugMug Product Team
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • Options
    Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,458 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2013
  • Options
    ChancyRatChancyRat Registered Users Posts: 2,141 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2013
    Lefty I need you
    Quark, I am one inch away from unveiling.
    But there's a huge "black scar" on the entire site which is that the navbar code is broken.
    I will post it separately. I don't think I can bring myself to show people a site with rotten tomatoes jaggedly thrown onto it. I have got to get the navbar fixed.
Sign In or Register to comment.