Options

Initial library Batch Upload - what solutions?

AdubobootAduboboot Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited December 18, 2013 in SmugMug Support
I'm new to SmugMug and am trying to find a way to get all my past libraries (1000+ albums) up to SmugMug without having to upload each album one by one.

I've looked into as many options as I could find:
...SmugMug website only alows one album at a time.
...MacDaddy through iPhoto doesn't work with the new version of SmugMug.
...The SmugMug plugin in iPhoto only does one album at a time.
...it seems Lightroom and Aperture only do it one ablum at a time (though I don't have them to check)

Here are three wonderful ways I could see this happen:
1) Directly through the Finder in my Mac --> Dropping entire folders in SmugMug Uploader, and Smugmug would retain the folder names.
2) A "syncronizing" between iPhoto and SmugMug --> would just need to arrange each album into categories afterwards.
3) A MacDaddy update --> with more filter options so one could sort the albums first

The ideal would be to be able to launch uploads overnight of dozens of albums at a time and have SmugMug retain the name of the album from ones' Finder (Explorer) such as used to be possible with MacDaddy before the version change.

Does anyone know a way to do this ? I could really use the help as I am daunted by fear of the necessity to have to do this one album at a time ! http://s3.amazonaws.com/advrider/knary.gif
I would be willing to buy Aperture or Lightroom if that option exists but don't want to if it doesn't.

Thanks

I use:
cameras: Canon 400d + iPhones and iPads
software: Digital Photo Professional for RAW, iPhoto for library
organizing: folders and subfolders in my Finder, classifying them by category as I do in SmugMug (for comparison sake).

Comments

• Options
    mrneutronmrneutron Registered Users Posts: 214 Major grins
    edited December 16, 2013
    Check out the third party apps on this page.