TonyCooperTonyCooper Registered Users Posts: 2,276 Major grins
edited February 24, 2014 in Cameras
I've been shooting a Nikon D60 for several years, and just purchased
a used Nikon D300. I'm just an hobby photographer; you can check
out my stuff in "Documentary" or "Other Cool Shots" or at my SmugMug
site.

First time using a CF card, and there are so many choices. With my
style of shooting - all RAW but seldom over 100 clicks a day - a 2GB
or 4GB card is sufficient. Download time is not a factor for me.

What difference will it make to me in choosing a brand/type of card?
Tony Cooper - Orlando, Florida
http://tonycooper.smugmug.com/

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,929 moderator
    edited February 21, 2014
    First, congratulations on your new toy. clap.gif

AFAIK, there are only three things to consider: reliability, capacity and speed. Oh right, and cost.

Any card can fail, but one from a reputable manufacturer (San Disk, Kingston, Transcend, etc.) will probably last longer than a generic brand. Some people swear by one brand or another, but I suspect that statistically, there isn't a hell of a lot of difference. I have never had a problem with San Disk cards, FWIW.

The capacity you need depends on the size of the files. Assuming you're using 14-bit mode (which you should for best image quality), an uncompressed file will average around 25 MB, which should give you roughly 160 frames on a 4 GB card. Nikon offers lossless compression, which reduces the file size to around 17 MB without compromising image quality. Not sure whether there are any performance or workflow consequences to using compressed mode--perhaps a Nikon shooter can clarify.