Options

Visual Literacy and Documentary Photography

RyanSRyanS Registered Users Posts: 507 Major grins
edited March 31, 2014 in Street and Documentary
Be warned... The following is an attempt to engage you in a discussion of visual literacy as a it relates to documentary photography. By visual literacy I mean the idea that one can both 'read' and 'write' visually (with a camera, for example). The current visual world is broiling with activity. A whole generation is using visual media to communicate, driven primarily by two new major technological innovations: The ubiquitous camera phone combined with high-powered mobile computing power as the platform. The interconnected global nature of the Internet as the engine.

My day job is working in this space for marketing purposes. The system we run tracks nearly 20 billion transactions daily. That's 20 billion unique human interactions as they engage with content on the Internet. We are only tracking a tiny overall percentage of the on-line world. All (yes, ALL!) of these interactions are driven primarily by some kind of visual experience. Our ability to understand and work in the visual world is, as a result, more important than any previous point in history. This extends beyond clicking past a commercially generated piece of Internet art. It reaches down in to our innate ability to understand the world around us.

Reviewing the history of the photographic visual world, as well as examining the current state of visual interaction, a few things stand out:
  1. Every new photograph is compared with every previous photograph. As a result, the bar a photograph needs to cross before reaching collective consciousness is higher than it has ever been. (I call this idea 'too much awesome.')
  2. There is a never ceasing supply of equally unimpressive and unavoidable crap.
  3. Many people can't seem to tell the difference.