HELP! Need some PS help quick...

rahmonsterrahmonster Registered Users Posts: 1,376 Major grins
edited December 23, 2005 in People
Ok last week I was asked by a freind to photograph her son and his girlfriend before they went to their end of grade ten formal do. I reluctatly accepted, I have never done this sort of thing before.

Now his date was 45 minutes late and I had no flash. These were shot on fuji superia 400 ISO film on a canon eos 30. I was really worried about the sun but it was the only light I had to go with....There was no light coming into the house, had no flash, very small garden.

Anyway I did get the negs scanned for a reason. I'm not happy with them and I would like some help (if theres any hope) at some post work to make them better....

heres a couple
49209794-L.jpg

49209783-M.jpg

More in the Gallery...

Thanks in advance
www.tmitchell.smugmug.com

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life...Picasso

Comments

• OwenOwen Registered Users Posts: 948 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2005
    I played around for a bit and the black shadows are black with very little detail.. unfortunately I wasn't successful in doing any sort of saving. Too bad you didn't turn them away from from the sun and then expose for their bodies and not the BG. *shrugs* Hindsight is 20/20.
  • gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2005
    Im no help RM...that is so typical of 0zzie sun though. Its just so harsh.

Next time get an esky lid or anything large & flat...cover it with aluminium foil for a reflector.
  • DixieDixie Registered Users Posts: 1,497 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2005
    Rah, there's some detail there in the shadows, but it's really going to have to be worked to bring it out. I created a duplicate layer and adjusted the bottom layer for detail in the shadows. Then erased the top layer where the shadows were. Opacity 50%, flow 50% with a soft brush.