Options

Hawaii Summer 2103

PriorPrior Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited April 7, 2014 in Other Cool Shots
My wife and I were fortunate enough to visit Hawaii this summer for a week and a half and spend a few days touring Pearl Harbor and spend the remainder of the time on the Big Island. I'm finally getting around to uploading/posting a few of the pictures from our visit- I'm still new to post processing with Lightroom; plenty to learn. Hope you enjoy, and always appreciate any comments!

1307_Hawaii_412-L.jpg
Palm Trees, Chain of Craters Road, Big Island
Shot with the D2X and polarizing filter, my wife liked the 'cooked' look of this one.

1307_Hawaii_458-L.jpg
Crashing Waves, also on the Chain of Craters Road, Big Island
I took a series of these with the waves crashing in, want to make somewhat of a stacked collage of these shots.

1307_Hawaii_288-2-L.jpg
Akaka Falls, Big Island

1307_Hawaii_725-L.jpg
Waipio Valley, Big Island. This area is sparsely populated but was once the center of Hawaiian society and population. A large tsunami wiped the area out- it's now home to less than 50 people, all native Hawaiians. Access is via a very steep, 4 wheel drive only road.

1307_Hawaii_461-2-L.jpg
Lava Flow Beaches, Big Island

1307_Hawaii_755-L.jpg
Waipio Valley from the beach

1307_Hawaii_551-2-L.jpg
Waipio Valley Sunset, from the balcony of our B&B. Power lines and the tree aren't my fav, but the lihgt in this one was just stunning.

Hope you all enjoyed a few shots from our trip. I can't wait to go back again!
awprior.smugmug.com
Nikon D2x
Nikon 18-200 f3.5-5.6 DX
Nikon SB-800

Comments

• Options
    JonaBeth RussellJonaBeth Russell Registered Users Posts: 1,065 Major grins
    edited March 25, 2014
    Beautiful captures!

My wife despises power lines in a shot, and I can totally relate. However, something about the power lines is charming to me. It makes it feel real -accessible to humans.
  • Options