Options

Colour Space on SmugMug

threeshoesthreeshoes Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited April 27, 2014 in SmugMug Support
I have just discovered, not having researched it before, that SmugMug's interface converts images to sRGB. I have always used aRGB since I understand that it gives a wider gamut of colour; although I'm no expert, it seems to me that that would be a more appropriate colour space for SmugMug to use.

If it were possible to use either, surely that would be even better, and I think that most decent browsers (even the latest Internet Explorer) adapt to the colour profile embedded in an image.

What does anyone else think?

Comments

• Options
    AceCo55AceCo55 Registered Users Posts: 950 Major grins
    edited April 26, 2014
    And by far the majority of printers use sRBG
    My opinion does not necessarily make it true. What you do with my opinion is entirely up to you.
    www.acecootephotography.com
  • Options
    AperturePlusAperturePlus Registered Users Posts: 374 Major grins
    edited April 26, 2014
    Agree with AceCo55 - it is a printer-related consideration. Other than one fine-art printer in my neck of the woods, all others use sRGB.
  • Options
    edited April 26, 2014
    Surely that consideration is lower than maintaining a better amount of colour in the image file (if that is what happens with aRGB)? The SmugMug explanation seems to be persuasive except that there is no difference in the rendering of the examples given. I've tried it in Safari, Firefox, Chrome and Opera (I don't use IE, but I think that it would adapt to the colour profile) and there is no difference in the appearance of the images.

Finally, surely your printer's software will convert whatever it sees? Certainly my Pixma 9500 II works fine with either.
  • Options
    edited April 26, 2014
    I forgot to mention that I print from Apple Aperture to my Pixma, first having set up the proofing profile to aRGB.
  • Options
    edited April 26, 2014