Options

I Give Up II

73Rocks73Rocks Registered Users Posts: 147 Major grins
edited May 16, 2014 in Sports
I thought about adding this to the thread started by jmphotocraft but I’m afraid it would get lost in the shuffle so I am bringing it up on a new thread. In response to his question and others like it as how do you get people to buy your images, I found that you have to offer something a little extra.

Before I get to the heart of my response I will be right up front with everyone that I am not a full time photographer . . . yet. I am still about 3 years away from retirement with an eye on continuing photography as a substantial addition to my “post work” income. Right now I am still in the “free-lance” stage working part time for a few of the area small town newspapers and selling directly to area schools and parents, which I have been doing for the past 14 years. So although I too see the impact of parents being satisfied with having a simple, crude smart phone image of little Jimmy or Jane not even in an action shot, right now it does not affect me that much as it does many others reading this thread.

That being said, a few years ago I did realize this was the case as I noticed that some of the parents showing up at the games with low priced DSL cameras never bought my pictures. Searching for some answers, I turned to the “Grinners” to see what they were doing about this problem and I read about some others creating posters and collages to increase their sales.

Three years and many hours of frustration later, I finally have gotten to the point where parents are contacting me now for my work. I made quite a bit of money off of my collages this past year. Here are a few examples.

03%20CG-M.jpg

10%20BG-M.jpg

18%20LE-M.jpg

24%20DQ-M.jpg

68%20TB-M.jpg

09%20SE%20Intro-M.jpg

07%20JH-M.jpg

04%20MD-M.jpg

13%20Wolves-M.jpg

03%20LH%202-M.jpg

10%20BK-M.jpg

10%20CB%202-M.jpg

10%20GK-M.jpg

20%20RG%203-M.jpg

32%20ED%202-M.jpg

32%20TB-M.jpg

33%20SO-M.jpg