B&W to Colour ?

Awais YaqubAwais Yaqub Registered Users Posts: 10,572 Major grins
edited December 29, 2005 in Finishing School
How to do that i have seen some restored movies and also heard about pictures
can it be done in photoshop CS 8 ?:scratch
thanks
Thine is the beauty of light; mine is the song of fire. Thy beauty exalts the heart; my song inspires the soul. Allama Iqbal

My Gallery

Comments

• macaddictmacaddict Registered Users Posts: 73 Big grins
    edited December 28, 2005
    This is my first attempt at colorizing a black and white photograph in Photoshop. It took a couple of hours, but I am happy with the way it turned out. I found a 48-star U.S. flag on the Internet and used it for a background. Believe it or not, I mapped my skin color from a photo of me over Dad's face!
    Specifics: Open your B&W and a color photo. Duplicate your B&W background on its own layer (CMD+J) On the color photo make a selection around the desired skin tone. Back to the B&W. Choose Image>Adjustments>Match Color. You'll have the option of choosing your selection from the color photo. Adjust to your liking. Add a layer mask, clean it up and repeat with more layers and target colors. It takes a while, but it works!
    51135811_718646485f.jpg
    Here's my brothers and sister way before I made my appearance!
    53105188_7669c8badc.jpg

Dave
  • Awais YaqubAwais Yaqub Registered Users Posts: 10,572 Major grins
    edited December 28, 2005
    thumb.gif Thank you very much you did great job with those photos ! i will try your method
    Thine is the beauty of light; mine is the song of fire. Thy beauty exalts the heart; my song inspires the soul. Allama Iqbal

My Gallery
  • edgeworkedgework Registered Users Posts: 257 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2005
    macaddict wrote: