Options

How to make sand white??? :)

haringharing Registered Users Posts: 281 Major grins
edited September 12, 2014 in Landscapes
I am a wedding photographer based in Miami. I shoot a lot of beach weddings. Some of my clients want me to make the sand white. How do you achieve this so it looks great?

I have tried to desaturate the sand however I just don't like how it looks. It looks muddy and not real. How do you achieve the white sand look without traveling to Micronesia....?

Thanks so much!

Comments

• Options
    TonyCooperTonyCooper Registered Users Posts: 2,276 Major grins
    edited September 6, 2014
    Without knowing what software you use for post, it's difficult to offer a suggestion.

Using Photoshop CC 2014 I had some success with a photograph taken at New Smyrna Beach
    turning gray sand to white sand using Image>Adjustments>Replace Color and sampling
    the sand and moving the Lightness slider to the right. However, this is a global image change
    and other grays in the image will shift color. Better results could be done if I wanted to
    take the time to use a Mask.

My son-in-law shoots surfing photographs in Jax Beach. Some magazines reject his photos
    because the water is not blue enough.

Our sand isn't white, and our water isn't blue.
    Tony Cooper - Orlando, Florida
    http://tonycooper.smugmug.com/
  • Options
    FiddlestixFiddlestix Registered Users Posts: 145 Major grins
    edited September 6, 2014
    Without seeing an example of what your sand looks like (grey, brown, yellow, etc), I can only suggest that you do a selection of the sand and then make a white balance adjustment (if the sand color is too brown/yellow) and/or making an exposure adjustment on the selection if it is too grey. I would also look at desaturating the selection in addition to the WB or exp adjustments. Just something you might try.
    Images from SE Asia - some like it HOT
    http://fiddlefoto.smugmug.com

Cheers!
    Stix
  • Options