Encoding for caption in pictures uploaded by smugmug uploader 1.0 on MacOS X

kajhkajh Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited May 11, 2007 in SmugMug Support
Hi!

I'm new to smugmug and I'm try to find the best way to upload pictures from MacOS X. I have the pictures in iPhoto. Since the smugmug uploader 1.0 does not support copying iPhoto comments into caption in smugmug I used Caption Buddy to copy the comment in iPhoto for a picture into the jpg file as iptc properties [1].

See the iptc properties in the following screenshot from Preview on osx at http://folk.uio.no/kajh/tmp/iptc.png

I tried to upload this picture with smugmug uploader 1.0. I get the iptc caption into the picture in smugmug, but the characterencoding seems to be wrong.

The caption bellow the picture shows "test æøå". If I in Safari change the encoding for the page to utf-8, the caption is displayed as "test æøå".

You can see this caption at http://hkbilder.smugmug.com/gallery/1066244

The same character encoding issue goes for the keywords for the picture.

What is the best way to solve this issue? Should the smugmug uploader convert the character encoding to iso-8859-1?

-Kaj :)

[1] thank you for implementing support for iPhoto comments in version 2.0 of the smugmug uploader for osx! :)

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited December 30, 2005
    kajh wrote:
    Hi!

I'm new to smugmug and I'm try to find the best way to upload pictures from MacOS X. I have the pictures in iPhoto. Since the smugmug uploader 1.0 does not support copying iPhoto comments into caption in smugmug I used Caption Buddy to copy the comment in iPhoto for a picture into the jpg file as iptc properties [1].

See the iptc properties in the following screenshot from Preview on osx at http://folk.uio.no/kajh/tmp/iptc.png

I tried to upload this picture with smugmug uploader 1.0. I get the iptc caption into the picture in smugmug, but the characterencoding seems to be wrong.