White balance woes

MattCMattC Registered Users Posts: 24 Big grins
edited January 3, 2006 in Finishing School
Heya,

I was recently browsing through my photos from our high school's production of The Matchmaker. While shooting however, one thing I neglected to take into consideration was my 300D's white balance setting - so most of my photos turned out very yellow under the stage lights. As the sound designer and board op, I had more important things to worry about at the time - like nailing my cues :D

Anyways, here's one photo in particular thats giving me a hard time to fix in photoshop:
IMG_4661.jpg

Anyone care to give it a try? For what it's worth, the scene was lit with 3200K Halogen lamps from the front and top with light pink gel filters on the front (Rosco 33?)

Thanks!
Matt Carpenter

Comments

• nokout3839nokout3839 Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
    edited January 2, 2006
    Right, im a noob but I thought Id have a go.
    I just did two curves adjustments, one on the red channel and one on the RGB channel.

Red - Input: 45 Output: 55
    RGB - Input: 75 Output: 56

Im pretty sure I went too far but I hope it looks a bit more natural. I was also wondering if you wanted to achive extra warmth with the filter or are you using it to combat the particular lighting?

(I am not sure on posting other peoples images, I hope this is the right way to do it, feel free to correct me if im wrong anyone)

Cheers, Nigel

All care but no responsibility

• Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited January 3, 2006
    nokout3839 wrote:
    Right, im a noob but I thought Id have a go.
    I just did two curves adjustments, one on the red channel and one on the RGB channel.

Red - Input: 45 Output: 55
    RGB - Input: 75 Output: 56

Im pretty sure I went too far but I hope it looks a bit more natural. I was also wondering if you wanted to achive extra warmth with the filter or are you using it to combat the particular lighting?