Options

That missing blog functionality

jemostromjemostrom Registered Users Posts: 136 Major grins
edited August 23, 2015 in SmugMug Support
WARNING: this is going to be a long, probably incoherent, ramble of why I'm playing with the idea of switching from Smugmug to some other platform

I've been thinking about why I'm not using my smugmug site as much as I want, I really want to use Smugmug but I'm not doing it to the degree I want. I better give you some background so you better understand my thoughts.
  • I'm a hobbyist (I think my all time total "income" from selling photos is $35), I'm taking photos just because I enjoy it.
  • I haven't got any real "audience" for my photos, my fan club consists of 1 person: my mother :D. Usually there are very few views (if any) but once in a while I get more views (I think that my personal record is about 35000 views in 24 hours). So my site is basically a "ego site" with very few visitors.
  • While I like looking at photos I like reading/looking at photo stories even better.
  • I really like the way Smugmug handle photos, how it can be customized, the support, the lightroom plugin, etc.

So I should be happy and use smugmug without any complaints ... but as I've wrote earlier I'm playing with idea of switching to some other platform. Why? I'm missing the words!!

I'm not very good at it but I really enjoy writing a story and illustrating it with my photos, or making short blog posts with one or a couple of photos. Perhaps a quick blog entry from my phone while travelling. Nothing fancy, but I enjoy doing this and my fan(s) say she enjoys reading them :D.

But Smugmug has no blog tool, this makes it difficult/cumbersome to create/maintain some kind of blog on the site. So I did the the same thing that so many of you have done, I tried combining Smugmug with some blogging tool but I've never managed to make anything that looked and worked like one single site.