Options

Ducks on the pond

Jester243Jester243 Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
edited March 22, 2016 in Wildlife
Mallards are enjoying the local ponds now that they are melting. I would appreciate any suggestions for editing or shooting, I'm fairly new to this.

DSC_7389-X2.jpg

-Dan

Comments

• Options
    StumblebumStumblebum Registered Users Posts: 8,480 Major grins
    edited March 18, 2016
    Nice and vibrant!
  • Options
    edited March 18, 2016
    Stumblebum wrote: »
    Nice and vibrant!

Thank you, is there anything you would have done differently with it?
  • Options
    puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins
    edited March 18, 2016
    Nice and vibrant!

Indeed.

I've no idea what the environment is like around this venue ... but, unsurprisingly, I'd suggest at least trying to get down to their eye level - if you don't like the results, fine - no problem - but at least give it a go? :)

If you like the (potential) results, but the surroundings of this particular pond are less than ideal from a background aspect ... then, imo - if you intend to continue taking (half decent) pics of waterfowl - it's probably time to start looking for a different location that offers such.

You'd probably need an angle finder (unfamiliar with a 610, but suspect no tilting lcd?) ... to get reasonably low down ... and some means of support - eg a bean bag is an inexpensive and reliable start.

Whilst my main support rig for the beanbag is a home-made turntable, I've recently added a glass microwave platter as an alternative item to place between the beanbag and the ground, since it offers a nice smooth surface when rotating the beanbag and cam if tracking a subject - as it was removed from a defunct MW, the price was right too :)

Any similar item would probably suffice, but others rarely have the three equispaced 'pips' on the underside, which help to stop it rocking on some surfaces.

pp

Edit - forgot to mention