Worrying about API v2

GateGate Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
Hi there,

I'm a software developer and want to develop desktop tools (Windos, OS X) using Smugmug API.

But what API version should I use ?
v1.3 is DEPRECATED
v2 is BETA for more than a year

It means there's no more "production" API version !

The"release log" hasn't change since April 2015, about 18 months ago !
The "known issues" are the same for months !
The last "sticky" post in this forum announcing v2 API update is dated in 2014 !

The v2 documentation is really incomplete, the Live API browser is nice but doesn't give all answers.
I've seen others complaining here, but it was months ago and nothing has changed.

I don't want to invest in a deprecated API version and I'm worried about a "BETA nearly production" version which is poorly documented and hasn't change for the last 18 months.

I'm not surprised there are very few existing wrapper for v2, all developers are waiting..

So when can we expect a full documentation and a production release ?

Thanks,

Olivier

Comments

• gabbiegabbie Registered Users Posts: 66 Many Grins
    edited October 7, 2016
    Hi Olivier,

You ended up emailing our API support team and raising these questions. Sorry for originally missing this post and not replying here sooner. I know Erik answered your question over email today, but I'd like to post his reply here for anyone else with the same concern.