Logo image not resizing

Ian HIan H Beginner grinnerCanterburyPosts: 32Registered Users Big grins
As thread title states.

Comments

  • denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Major grins North Andover, MAPosts: 12,380Super Moderators moderator
    edited December 11, 2016

    It's very difficult to help without seeing this behavior on your site.

    If you are a new user and can't enter a link yet, enter your site name in text, for example www dot dgrin dot com.

  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoPosts: 9,650Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 11, 2016

    I saw this happen this morning. First, photos are posted too large, especially portraits. You have to scroll to
    see whole photo. I had to down size browser quite a ways before resizing occurred. Firefox

    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website | My Blog
  • Ian HIan H Beginner grinner CanterburyPosts: 32Registered Users Big grins
    I checked the browser and the problem is also with chrome

    www.ianhuftonphotography.co.uk
  • Ian HIan H Beginner grinner CanterburyPosts: 32Registered Users Big grins
    The logo has been displaying correctly since I started the site a few months back. Now randomly it is producing a strange crop and is pixelated. It looks really bad.
  • denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Major grins North Andover, MAPosts: 12,380Super Moderators moderator
    edited December 12, 2016

    @Ian H said:
    The logo has been displaying correctly since I started the site a few months back. Now randomly it is producing a strange crop and is pixelated. It looks really bad.

    Wow - looking at the image referenced on your page by using the image URL vs. seeing it in your header shows quite a difference. I used developer tools in Chrome to pick up the URL (https://photos.smugmug.com/Site-images/i-n76BWhV/0/110x73/Nimageedit_2_6304753482-110x73.png) and compared it with the look in your site header. The image referenced is clearer and smaller than the one shown in your site header. Seems a bit odd.

    I doubt it would matter, but is there any difference if you use a .jpg instead of a .png?

    Unfortunately I don't have an answer; hopefully someone else will jump in.

  • Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Walkin' like a Penguin! Atwater, CaPosts: 4,414Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2016

    @denisegoldberg said:

    Wow - looking at the image referenced on your page by using the image URL vs. seeing it in your header shows quite a difference. I used developer tools in Chrome to pick up the URL (https://photos.smugmug.com/Site-images/i-n76BWhV/0/110x73/Nimageedit_2_6304753482-110x73.png) and compared it with the look in your site header. The image referenced is clearer and smaller than the one shown in your site header. Seems a bit odd.

    I doubt it would matter, but is there any difference if you use a .jpg instead of a .png?

    Unfortunately I don't have an answer; hopefully someone else will jump in.

    I noticed a while ago that using a logo block on my site, the logo (png) isn't crisp. I just used a HTML/CSS block to display my logo instead. In my case I need/wanted a transparent background for my logo, so using a jpg was not an option.

  • Ian HIan H Beginner grinner CanterburyPosts: 32Registered Users Big grins

    Yes I use a png as I also needed to have transparency on the background. The only way I have found to fix this is make a smaller image in photoshop and use that instead as the smugmug resizing tool appears to be broken.

  • leftquarkleftquark SmugMug Product Team Posts: 3,607Administrators, Vanilla Admin, SmugMug Product Team SmugMug Employee

    In the last few days we've switched to our new rendering engine, which is much much faster at generating photos. Photos previously rendered at the normal display sizes will stay the same, but any custom image size that is rendered on the fly (not a S, M, L, XL, X2, X3, X4, X5, 4k, or 5k) would use the new engine. When I looked at your site right now, in Mac Chrome, everything looks OK. Are you still seeing issues?

    SmugMug Director of Product / dGrin Afficionado
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoPosts: 9,650Registered Users Major grins

    @leftquark said:
    .... Photos previously rendered at the normal display sizes will stay the same, but any custom image size that is rendered on the fly (not a S, M, L, XL, X2, X3, X4, X5, 4k, or 5k) would use the new engine. ...

    That is not true. You have went back and changed my max size settings in over a 100 galleries. I now have lost the specific sizes I have set.

    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website | My Blog
  • Ian HIan H Beginner grinner CanterburyPosts: 32Registered Users Big grins

    After making a new logo my problem is resolved thanks.

  • leftquarkleftquark SmugMug Product Team Posts: 3,607Administrators, Vanilla Admin, SmugMug Product Team SmugMug Employee

    @Allen said:

    @leftquark said:
    .... Photos previously rendered at the normal display sizes will stay the same, but any custom image size that is rendered on the fly (not a S, M, L, XL, X2, X3, X4, X5, 4k, or 5k) would use the new engine. ...

    That is not true. You have went back and changed my max size settings in over a 100 galleries. I now have lost the specific sizes I have set.

    There's a difference between "rendering" (which is the act of creating a display size) and "max display size". Display sizes that were created using our old engine, weren't re-rendered (re-created), but if the max display size changed, then we use the new engine to render these larger sizes. So my statement is true. Lets keep this thread on topic and we can discuss Max Display Size in the other threads.

    SmugMug Director of Product / dGrin Afficionado
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0 Big grins

    Hi everyone!
    Just want to say, that I also have a problem with the logo's image.
    http://www.berndhartenberger.com
    My logo is in the top left corner. The image of the logo is cut off on top and bottom.
    Rendered image: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-43Bcmj9/0/28x36/i-43Bcmj9-28x36.png
    The rendered image is supposed to be 28x36px (according filename). In fact it is 28x28px.
    Original image: http://www.berndhartenberger.com/Miscellaneous/n-6jV2Hs/i-43Bcmj9/A
    I already told the heroes. Just mention it here in case anyone else faces the same problem.
    Cheers!
    Bernd

  • leftquarkleftquark SmugMug Product Team Posts: 3,607Administrators, Vanilla Admin, SmugMug Product Team SmugMug Employee
    edited December 22, 2016

    @berndhartenberger said:
    Hi everyone!
    Just want to say, that I also have a problem with the logo's image.
    http://www.berndhartenberger.com
    My logo is in the top left corner. The image of the logo is cut off on top and bottom.
    Rendered image: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-43Bcmj9/0/28x36/i-43Bcmj9-28x36.png
    The rendered image is supposed to be 28x36px (according filename). In fact it is 28x28px.
    Original image: http://www.berndhartenberger.com/Miscellaneous/n-6jV2Hs/i-43Bcmj9/A
    I already told the heroes. Just mention it here in case anyone else faces the same problem.
    Cheers!
    Bernd

    The issue is caused by how we render small images like that: For images that small we typically load the "Thumbnail" or "Tiny", which in this case were generated with the setting for "Square Thumbnails" set to ON. I went into your gallery and toggled Square Thumbnails to OFF (first I had to switch the gallery style to SmugMug). You should see proper images now, without them being cutoff.

    We're looking to get rid of the Thumbnail and Tiny sizes and the issue should go away when we do that. For now, if you see this happen again, just pop into Gallery Settings, switch the Appearance to temporarily use "SmugMug" style, and set Square Thumbnails to OFF, then reset your gallery style to the one you wanted.

    SmugMug Director of Product / dGrin Afficionado
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoPosts: 9,650Registered Users Major grins

    @leftquark said:

    ...

    We're looking to get rid of the Thumbnail and Tiny sizes and the issue should go away when we do that. ...

    So what are we going to do with these sizes that are all over our blogs?

    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website | My Blog
  • leftquarkleftquark SmugMug Product Team Posts: 3,607Administrators, Vanilla Admin, SmugMug Product Team SmugMug Employee

    They'll get automatically generated as needed, just as custom sizes do. The URL's will still work and you shouldn't notice any changes. We have to migrate your custom crops over to Points of Interest so all of your Crop Thumbnails remain the same (at least for squares and original aspect ratios)

    SmugMug Director of Product / dGrin Afficionado
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoPosts: 9,650Registered Users Major grins

    @leftquark said:
    They'll get automatically generated as needed, just as custom sizes do. The URL's will still work and you shouldn't notice any changes. We have to migrate your custom crops over to Points of Interest so all of your Crop Thumbnails remain the same (at least for squares and original aspect ratios)

    There is no way you could automatically generate the crops, position and zoom, that I use for thumbs. You have no idea what the main subject is in multiple subject photos. The resolution does not always allow zooming as far as I would like. My final crop is a trade off between zoom, resolution, subject positioning for every single thumb. Actually, I do not do all the thumbs, so those will get the treatment also? That would be a disaster.
    Sounds like you removing any possibility of any manual thumb crop/zoom and going to "it's our way or the highway". At least that is what you sound like.

    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website | My Blog
  • leftquarkleftquark SmugMug Product Team Posts: 3,607Administrators, Vanilla Admin, SmugMug Product Team SmugMug Employee

    @Allen: Is there a reason why you're so quick to jump to everything is "impossible"? You jumped straight into "no no no!" and are not listening to what I'm saying.

    The Ti and Th sized photos will get automatically generated, not the crops, the same way that custom sizes get automatically generated. We'll remove the physical Ti and Th sized JPG's from our servers but when one is requested, it'll still load (as if it was a custom size). All your old links will continue to work, just behind the scenes things will work differently.

    We have all the information of how you cropped your photos when you used the Crop Thumbnail tool, and we can translate those to the new Points of Interest.

    Hope you have a great holiday. Merry Christmas.

    SmugMug Director of Product / dGrin Afficionado
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoPosts: 9,650Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 26, 2016

    @leftquark said:
    @Allen: Is there a reason why you're so quick to jump to everything is "impossible"? You jumped straight into "no no no!" and are not listening to what I'm saying.

    The Ti and Th sized photos will get automatically generated, not the crops, the same way that custom sizes get automatically generated. We'll remove the physical Ti and Th sized JPG's from our servers but when one is requested, it'll still load (as if it was a custom size). All your old links will continue to work, just behind the scenes things will work differently.

    We have all the information of how you cropped your photos when you used the Crop Thumbnail tool, and we can translate those to the new Points of Interest.

    Hope you have a great holiday. Merry Christmas.

    Sorry but you're scarring the crap out'a me with these new options. The first thing I think of is all my thumbs in all Smugmug style galleries get changed. Years of work on my part.

    There is no way that anyone would ever know how I crop every thumb. Every crop I do is different, most I zoom tight but some I do not and some no zoom at all. Some I have to pick a subject, Point of Interest, because there could be multiple picks within the photo. How in the world could you say " We have all the information of how you cropped your photos when you used the Crop Thumbnail tool" makes no sense at all. When I do more then a couple I use the Chrome extension, not your tool.

    Will manual cropping still be available? The way you're talking it is disappearing altogether.

    Oops, forgot, wish you all a great holiday also and a Merry Christmas.

    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website | My Blog
  • leftquarkleftquark SmugMug Product Team Posts: 3,607Administrators, Vanilla Admin, SmugMug Product Team SmugMug Employee

    @Allen said:
    The first thing I think of is all my thumbs in all Smugmug style galleries get changed. Years of work on my part.

    I'll say this for the 3rd time, when we do this, you won't notice any difference

    @Allen said:
    There is no way that anyone would ever know how I crop every thumb. How in the world could you say " We have all the information of how you cropped your photos when you used the Crop Thumbnail tool" makes no sense at all.

    Every time you use the Crop Thumbnail tool we know exactly how you cropped it.

    @Allen said:
    When I do more then a couple I use the Chrome extension, not your tool.

    What Chrome extension? Sherlock's plugin just loads our Crop Thumbnail tool. Everything has to go through SmugMug in the end - that's how those thumbnails work. Thus we know how you cropped it and can re-create it.

    @Allen said:
    Will manual cropping still be available? The way you're talking it is disappearing altogether.

    We'll offer a new tool that does essentially the same thing, just different behind-the-scenes magic.

    And for the record, we can do a really good job of automatically pin-pointing the subject of your photo and setting the point of interest, including with multiple subjects. We already do this in some instances with great success. It may not be exactly what you want, which is why we'd have options to let you tweak the interest point.

    SmugMug Director of Product / dGrin Afficionado
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
Sign In or Register to comment.