Options

Merge Photo Niches Into One Site or Separate??

Tom PotterTom Potter Registered Users Posts: 226 Major grins

Hi There - I am a landscape/nature photographer. I am getting into portrait/head shot photography. Anything wrong with me having both types of photography on the same site? I would create a separate page something like: tompotterphotography.com/headshots-and-portraits and also have a navigational button labeled "Portrait Photography" or work it out however it should work.

Thx, Tom

Tom Potter
www.tompotterphotography.com
Email: tom@tompotterphotography.com
Landscape, Nature Photographic Prints For Sale
Focusing On Colorado

Comments

• Options
    Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins

In my experience two widely different forms of photography don't go together well on a business site. You want your site to showcase what makes you money. It is basically a portfolio for those few who search the web. Average people will get confused if they are looking for portrait photographers and see loads of nature/landscape work.

I would create one portrait gallery and one head shot gallery as they are different but similar enough that people stumbling across the site know what your specialties are. Then leave the landscape/nature hidden for occasional sales through social media or in person events.

Steve

Website
  • Options