LR or SmugMug for captions?

allanrubéallanrubé Registered Users Posts: 108 Major grins

I have used LR but without adding any captions. I am going to place about 6000 images onto my SmugMug site. Since I am new to this I would like advise - should I enter the captions in LR or Smug?

I plan to use the plugin if that makes a difference.

Comments

• leftquarkleftquark Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,784 Many Grins

I posted my recommendation (which is to use LR) to your other thread: https://dgrin.com/discussion/261557/lr-plugin-opinions-wanted

dGrin Afficionado
    Former SmugMug Product Team
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • Djm3006Djm3006 Registered Users Posts: 226 Major grins
  • colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins

I’m not very experienced with the plug-in but from what I’ve read, it has an option for bidirectional sync. If that works flawlessly, then it means if you are using the plug-in you should be able to edit captions in either Smugmug or Lightroom and the changes will sync to the other place (somebody correct me if I am wrong). If I’m right, if you are using the plug-in with bidirectional sync enabled, you can enter captions on either end, so just choose the way you think is easier and faster for you.

But if you are not using the plug-in, the choice is very clear: Enter captions, keywords, and other metadata in Lightroom. That way, they always stay under your control, with your local library of master photos, and independent of any online service. That’s important because any online service can change or go out of business, as many have in the last 10 years, and you don’t want them to be the only place where your captions live. To their credit, Smugmug has been a long term survivor and I don’t worry about them too much, but the principle is sound: Maintain local control of your photos and metadata.