Image Cataloguing

Sask2005Sask2005 Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
edited January 25, 2006 in Finishing School
As a fanactical photographer I collect in excess of 300 images a week (and in my last vacation of 2 weeks a weekago I collected 4500 photos. I am not that organised and have never been able to work out an effective way of cataloguing all my pics. Can anyone please expound to me their best methods and even software that enables them to easily find and use their many photos.

Thank you.
Bruce :thumb

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited January 20, 2006
    I moved your post here, from the Hall of Wisdom.
  • AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited January 20, 2006
  • Erie BuoyErie Buoy Registered Users Posts: 27 Big grins
    edited January 20, 2006
    iMatch
    I've been pretty happy with iMatch (http://www.photools.com/). It is highly customizable and deals with my *.NEF formatted files quite well. The details of the database structure are knowable (i.e. not proprietary) so if you wanted to migrate to another piece of organization software in the future, you could. It's also priced quite reasonably at $60.00.

There is also a somewhat active iMatch User forum at http://ptforum.photoolsweb.com/ubbthreads.php.

Do you have specific requirements for your cataloguing needs?

Cheers,

Matt
    Explore (and add to!) smugmug co-branding on del.icio.us
  • VikingViking Registered Users Posts: 178 Major grins
    edited January 20, 2006
    Im not a pro.

Year Month date
    /05/januari - 15/

and when its 4 gb I burn it. :)
  • Sask2005Sask2005 Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
    edited January 20, 2006
    Thanks
    Andy wrote:
    I moved your post here, from the Hall of Wisdom.

Thanks - just figured wisdom was the place to seek.
  • USAIRUSAIR Registered Users Posts: 2,646 Major grins
    edited January 21, 2006
    I just started playing with iView Media Pro today.(21 day trial)