App to make full backup of all your photos and videos

tommybluetommyblue Registered Users Posts: 5 Big grins
As a SmugMug user I wanted to keep a local backup of all my photos and videos. As you probably know the only way to do it is to open each gallery and download it, this is all but user-friendly.
I'm a programmer so I decided to make my own software to do it. It can run periodically and will download new elements, skipping exising ones. It uses your API access tokens to access the account, loops over all galleries and downloads each photo and video to a folder you choose.
It requires some programming skills to be downloaded and configured, but then you'll have a full backup of your account.
It's completely open source, feel free to use it, change it, share it, etc.
Can be downloaded from github, project: tommyblue/smugmug-backup (sorry, I can't post link as I'm a new user)
Feedbacks are welcome

Comments

• SamirDSamirD Registered Users Posts: 3,474 Major grins

Thank you! What are the system requirements for this? I see on your blog someone got it working for Windows, implying that it doesn't work in windows normally?

Pictures and Videos of the Huntsville Car Scene: www.huntsvillecarscene.com
    Want faster uploading? Vote for FTP!
  • tommybluetommyblue Registered Users Posts: 5 Big grins
    edited January 23, 2020
    @SamirD any system that can build a GoLang executable is supported. I work with both Mac and Linux, but I think it works with Windows too
  • begbirumerahbegbirumerah Registered Users Posts: 3 Big grins
    @tommyblue Thank you for the program.
    I have successfully run your program on my Windows 10.
    The gallery names are preserved on my E: as folder names.
    However there is only 1 file in each folder
    Looks like all images are dumped as a single binary file (not *.jpg as I uploaded) and that single file size is much less than total MB of all images in that gallery.