Options

Do the pro's ETTL?

3rdPlanetPhotography3rdPlanetPhotography Banned Posts: 920 Major grins
edited February 1, 2006 in Technique
Hello again everyone. I'm driving the 20d and Sigma 500 DG flash unit. I know how to use the camera in full manual mode (which I prefer) however I haven't bothered to learn the manual mode of the flash.

IYO, do you think it's worth the time or would you normally use the flash in ETTL mode while shooting manual on the camera?

:scratch

Comments

• Options
    erich6erich6 Registered Users Posts: 1,638 Major grins
    edited January 24, 2006
    I'm not a pro but I can't imagine why use the manual mode on the flash when it's mounted on your camera. Seems like with FEC and the camera's manual mode you have all the control you need.

The only thing I can think of is if you want to shoot at a different focal length and get the flash to illuminate as if you were at another.... ne_nau.gif

Erich
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,697 moderator
    edited January 25, 2006
    I generally shoot in Av mode with the 580ex on board for flash in ETTL.

Gives good exposure for the foreground and the background. I shift to manual mode for more typical "flash" photography.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited January 25, 2006
    Single flash on the camera, I would say most people use TTL (or it's variations) or some form of auto flash. If you move to multiple or off camera flash, then manual starts to be more reliable and predictable.

And manual flash control without a flash meter is not very effecient.
    Creator of Dgrin's "Last Photographer Standing" contest
    "Failure is feedback. And feedback is the breakfast of champions." - fortune cookie
  • Options
    3rdPlanetPhotography3rdPlanetPhotography Banned Posts: 920 Major grins