Options

What is the Difference between a Gallery and a Portfolio?

amys_wavesandwondersamys_wavesandwonders Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited September 2, 2020 in SmugMug Support
Hi, I'm new, still in my trial, but plan to subscribe to the "Portfolio" tier in the next day or so. I'm building my site now.
I'm mainly a landscape/seascape/ nature photographer and my intention for my site to not only showcase my work but to sell prints as well. I plan to have categories by genre and by location.
I also plan to have a section offering portraits and commercial work which I do on occasion.
So my question is, what is the difference between a gallery and a portfolio page? I'm kinda thinking that a smart gallery for my landscape section and a portfolio for my portraiture and commercial. Am I heading in the right direction thinking that?

Comments

• Options
    denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,237 moderator

Portfolio is one of the account levels.

A gallery contains photos.
    Folders contain folders and galleries.

You can create custom pages.

If you look at my site (linked in my signature below):

Does that help at all?

Denise

• Options
    amys_wavesandwondersamys_wavesandwonders Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
    Yes, I knew the "portfolio" was the name of an account level.
    I think what confused me was seeing some sites sometimes call a gallery or page a "portfolio". I thought there was a difference, but from what I'm understanding now is that it is basically the same thing. Thank you for your answer, it really helped. :-)

> @denisegoldberg said:
    > Portfolio is one of the account levels.
    >
    > A gallery contains photos.
    > Folders contain folders and galleries.
    >
    > You can create custom pages.
    >
    > If you look at my site (linked in my signature below):
    >
    > * "kaleidoscope" and "about" are pages.
    > * This is a folder that contains galleris, https://www.denisegoldberg.com/Fragments