Requiring credit card for trial

PaulSpotPaulSpot Registered Users Posts: 34 Big grins
edited February 25, 2006 in SmugMug Support
Hi there. I'd like to say in advance that I don't mean for the following to sound rude, and in turn I hope nobody is rude with me in their defence of that which I'm critiquing ;)

I found it surprising that smugmug requires a credit card to even try out the site, and I found it downright amazing that there weren't really any threads on the topic yet.

You see, I almost completely skipped over looking into this site in any way at all when I saw it insisted on getting a hook into me before I could check it out. I only gave it a second look because I'm a pretty thorough researcher and wanted to really get the best site out there. There were a few recommendations, such as that of Greg Reinacker.

Here's the thing; whether you mean it this way or not, it comes off as looking like a really evil trick. It seems to me that requiring the credit card, along with an extraodinarily short trial period is an attempt to get people to accidentally pay for a year of service because they forgot to cancel by the end of the 7th day. This is a very common and horrific tactic we see every day, right? You say "Just sign up now! It's free! If you don't like it, you can cancel!", but you know they'll forget and then be upset when it's too late. When describing to a friend of mine the benefits of smugmug, he replied that he absolutely would never support a company that does that to its (potential) customers.