Options

First Studio Portrait

tmlphototmlphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,444 Major grins
edited September 17, 2004 in People
Just got my Alien Bee 800 and a black background, so I thought I'd try my hand at a studio portrait of a friend of mine. Comments welcome.

F/8 1/125 ISO 100 AB 800 w/ softbox & silver reflector fill

8624402-L.jpg
Thomas :D

TML Photography
tmlphoto.com

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,697 moderator
    edited September 17, 2004
    tmlphoto wrote:
    Just got my Alien Bee 800 and a black background, so I thought I'd try my hand at a studio portrait of a friend of mine. Comments welcome.

F/8 1/125 ISO 100 AB 800 w/ softbox & silver reflector fill

8624402-L.jpg
    TML - these are my first impressions and I assume you sincerely want criticism rather than praise. This is MUCH better than most snapshots, but there are areas for improvement. I am not a portrait shooter by trade or inclination, but to my eye the shadow to the left of her nose needs to be controlled by increasing the illumination with the reflector or moving the mainlight. There are highlights over her clavicles also. A side note - I am a fan of soft side-lighting also.
    You are shooting at f8 - why not open up a stop and move the softbox back a little further or diffuse the light more to flatten out the light a little on her cheek too.
    I would use the healing brush over the lines in her neck - she will be sensitive about those1drink.gif . You might also place a small light behind her head for catchlights in her hair and to seperate her better from the back ground.iloveyou.gif

She is a gorgeous subject and with a little improvement in the placing of your lights I think you will have a great shot that you and she will both love.

Hopefully some of the other real PROS here will give you their opinions also.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options