Off-canvas navigation menu for mobile only

IvosIvos Registered Users Posts: 7 Big grins
Hello, I'm new to Smugmug and am working on getting the mobile version of my site to incorporate an "off-canvas navigation menu". Meaning that when someone clicks on the hamburger menu icon the menu slides in from the right side of the screen. I've done my due diligence in googling this before I posted on here but have only found CSS code to incorporate a hamburger menu and not the "off-canvas" action that I'm looking for. Is this something that can be done? Thanks!

Comments

• IvosIvos Registered Users Posts: 7 Big grins
    In case it's of any help this is my site www.ivosphotography.com

This is a demo of what I'm looking to do https://codepen.io/iamsaief/pen/ExPoNjm
    Thanks @"Hikin' Mike" through my searches I did stumble upon that website however, I found that this code also applied the off-canvas navigation to the desktop version of my website. Is there any way to only have it apply to the mobile version?
  • Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,448 Major grins
    edited November 22, 2021

Haven't tried it, but if you don't enable the mobile menu, you should be able to hide the off-canvas menu using a media query in CSS. So the regular menu will display until the screen size shrinks to 736px (or what ever you want) and displays the off-canvas menu.

@"Hikin' Mike" that makes sense. I'm new to CSS coding but am quick to learn. Do you know of a site that has these "if-then" queries I could leverage?

Just add this in the CSS:

/*
    * Hides Off-Canvas Menu on Desktop
    ***************************************/
    @media (max-width:736px) {

.container {display: none;}

}

Smugmug uses 736px or smaller as a mobile, but you can change it to suit your needs.