Newbie looking for shooting basketball tips

riversinnriversinn Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited February 1, 2006 in Sports
:): I have just purchased a canon 20d and have shot my first hoop pics with a canon 85/1.8. I have shot mostly in Av mode shooting 800-1600/F 1.8. Shutter speeds seem to be all over the place from 1/500 - 1/1200. I am totally new to anything but fully automatic so would like some tips on basic settings and grow from there. I have two sons playing ... one on the freshman team and one on the varsity team. Each played in adjacent gyms and found the light to be completely different which had major effects on results. Have never manually set white balance but wonder if that would help me too.

One thing I did have difficulty with was getting focus on the subject. It seemed like the focus kept grabbing the background.

Any help would be appreciated. I have attached a couple of samples.

Comments

• Steve CaviglianoSteve Cavigliano Super Moderators Posts: 3,599 moderator
    edited January 31, 2006
    Hiya Riversinn and welcome to Dgrin wave.gif

Shooting baskertball using available light is tough. Check out this recent B-ball thread. There's a ton of good info there thumb.gif

As far as focus, were you using the Center Focus point? You have to do lots of 1/2 pressing, as players move or things get between you and your subject. The AF loves contrast so if you are trying to get a lock on an area without much contrast, the AF can easily drift to a point with more contrast. Like backgrounds rolleyes1.gif

Anyhow, welcome aboard and if the link above doesn't give you enough to chew on, let us know and we'll share more info with you :D

Steve
    SmugMug Support Hero
  • StevenVStevenV Registered Users Posts: 1,174 Major grins
    edited January 31, 2006
    riversinn wrote:
    Have never manually set white balance but wonder if that would help me too.