Options

Questions: Imac G5 / Aperture

windozewindoze Registered Users Posts: 2,830 Major grins
edited February 6, 2006 in Digital Darkroom
1st of all dont give me the company line... "the search" feature is your friend.
My Dell is dying and Im lucky enough to even be on the internet right now, so I'll get right to the point. Im thinking abolut the IMac G5 ( 20 inch, 2.1Ghz) with at least 1 gig of RAM. Two questions: (1) Can Aperture run "fast enough" on this system ( remember my workflow consists of only a few images at a time, but I dont like waiting either) and (2) from the peeps who have used Aperture what's the final verdict on this app?

BTW, somebody is gonna ask / say why are you buying Aperture in the 1st place is your work flow is minimal - remember Im a teacher and can get Aperture "very reduced"

troy

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited February 4, 2006
    You don't need Aperture.
    You do need the iMac G5.
  • Options
    edited February 4, 2006
    Andy wrote:
    You don't need Aperture.
    You do need the iMac G5.

ok fine, but then what software on the Mac would I run to "fix" up my piccies?

Ive mostly used paint shop pro and Ive heard its not compatible on the Mac. So does that leave me with just the "very confusing" , "way complicated", "makes my neurons wanna runaway" - adobe Photoshop??

troy
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited February 4, 2006
    OK Aperture. Fine :D
  • Options
    ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
    edited February 4, 2006
    windoze wrote:
    ok fine, but then what software on the Mac would I run to "fix" up my piccies?

Ive mostly used paint shop pro and Ive heard its not compatible on the Mac. So does that leave me with just the "very confusing" , "way complicated", "makes my neurons wanna runaway" - adobe Photoshop??

troy

You might be just the iPhoto kind of guy, Troy.
    If not now, when?