Opinions on Canon 70-200 f/4

nburwellnburwell Registered Users Posts: 87 Big grins
edited February 15, 2006 in Cameras
I'm looking real closely at purchasing this lens. I'm a college student on a budget, and would love the f/2.8 but my it's out of my price range. I'm just looking for opinions of those who have or currently own this lens and what your honest opinion of it is. I'm primarily going to be using it for birds and the occasional sport shots. You can post up sample pics if you'd like, but I'm looking for for what you personally think of it. Thanks!
-Nick-
20D l BG-E2 l 17-40L l 24-105L l 50mm 1.8 mKII l 430ex

Comments

• DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2006
    I love it.

8169994-L.jpg

44387151-L.jpg
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
    edited February 13, 2006
    Here's another of my wife (ain't she cute? :D ):

38481773-L.jpg
    Moderator Emeritus
  • DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2006
    I love it too. BUT. It may not be long enough for sports, and it almost definitely is not long enough for birds. When I have used it for sports (professional sports), I have had to crop the shots quite a bit. I have yet to get close enough to birds to take any decent shots (but then I don't try that sort of thing too often).

So I would just suggest you make sure 200mm is enough for your needs. Other than that, it's a very nice lens!
    edited February 13, 2006
    DJ-S1 wrote:
    I love it too. BUT. It may not be long enough for sports, and it almost definitely is not long enough for birds. When I have used it for sports (professional sports), I have had to crop the shots quite a bit. I have yet to get close enough to birds to take any decent shots (but then I don't try that sort of thing too often).

So I would just suggest you make sure 200mm is enough for your needs. Other than that, it's a very nice lens!