can someone help me with colors on a jpg?

cowcow Registered Users Posts: 6 Big grins
edited February 21, 2006 in People
hello,

i am a newbie photographer and i need some help. i have just been going through my picture collection and categorizing them. i came across a great picture of my wife (well, i think it's great anyway!), but i noticed the colors were absolutely terrible. asking family and such, i came to the realization that i took this picture on a vacation with my sister's camera. it's a p&s canon powershot g5 and my sister had it set to raw mode instead of jpg. i have no experience with raw images whatsoever.

herein lies the problem.

my father managed to download all the pictures we took that day onto his laptop and convert them to jpg. whatever program he used, i don't think it took colors into account because they all appear very strange looking.

alas, the raw images are no longer anywhere to be found. my father's best guess is that he converted the images to jpg and then deleted the raw pictures to save disk space.

my question to all of you is--is there any way to restore the color on this photograph as a jpg? or is this only something that can be tweaked with the original raw image? i have access to photoshop at the university and i tried adjusting the levels of the image, but nothing seemed to help. sadly, that is the extent of my knowledge of photoshop.

i will post the image here to see if anyone can play around with it to perhaps get lucky and make it somewhat close to the real colors.

i appreciate anyone's help that is willing to offer!

here is a link to the picture:
http://lotech.org/%7Ejeff/digipics/103_vacation.jpg

Comments

• nickphoto123nickphoto123 Registered Users Posts: 302 Major grins
    edited February 14, 2006
    cow wrote:
    hello,

........... I came across a great picture of my wife (well, i think it's great anyway!), but i noticed the colors were absolutely terrible. ..............................