Options

Customizing sales reports

tmanchestertmanchester Registered Users Posts: 95 Big grins
Even though I'm now a full time photographer, for seventeen years I had a career in sales management and marketing. One of the most useful and informative parts of a sales report is tracking where the sales come from.

It would be very helpful if there were a way to do this via the down-loadable sales reports, but I have not been able to figure out how to do this. The CSV file that is available today has a column that shows the image, and that shows a link to the page on which that image appears--of course this lets you know the gallery from which that image originated, but not "directly".

Now using Excel you can sort the image column, of course, and this "groups" the galleries from which there have been orders. However, that is not very intuitive, since you then need to manually go to that gallery to figure out the name of it (and what event was shot). I have almost 1,000 rows in my CSV file (a number which will only continue to grow), and this makes for a lot of clicking around. I think some refer to this as "screen scraping", and it could take forever.

That field looks like this:

http://username.smugmug.com/gallery/1196806/42/55982898

The number after "gallery/" represents the actual gallery number, and the number after the next slash is the image number.

Using Excel, is there a way to strip the image number after the gallery number? Keep in mind that there are potentially hundreds or thousands of unique fields like the one above, and you only want to strip the numbers after the last slash. I'm not sure, but I think if you were able to do that, you could then sort them by gallery number more easily.