learning about photoshop

ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
edited February 17, 2006 in Finishing School
Okay, a small introduction. I downloaded a trial version of photoshop cs2, and i am trying to learn how to work with it. I'm totally new to photoshop, so bear with me.

Here is the original photo i started with. Someone else took it on a film camera, scanned it, and then i got it, so there is nothing i can do about the quality of the original.
56549937-M.jpg

After some playing around, i got to this point. I played with the curves, masks for channelmixer and some other stuff, it may technically be not correct and i didn't crop anything yet, but it is just for me understanding photoshop.
56549919-M.jpg

So, here is the question. If you look at the original above the glasses, there are some stray hairs.
56549923-M.jpg
I tried to remove the hairs, but for some reason, whatever i do, it looks unnatural, like i took a white brush, and just painted it white. Also the texture of the tiles, i can't seem to duplicate. Whatever i do, it is either to light, to dark, or just doesn't match at all... The same thing happened on the right side of her head, where i removed the hairs sticking out. How do i go about doing that? to a point that it looks "natural"?

Comments

• edgeworkedgework Registered Users Posts: 257 Major grins
    edited February 16, 2006
    ivar wrote:
    So, here is the question. If you look at the original above the glasses, there are some stray hairs.

I tried to remove the hairs, but for some reason, whatever i do, it looks unnatural, like i took a white brush, and just painted it white. Also the texture of the tiles, i can't seem to duplicate. Whatever i do, it is either to light, to dark, or just doesn't match at all... The same thing happened on the right side of her head, where i removed the hairs sticking out. How do i go about doing that? to a point that it looks "natural"?

What tool did you use?