Blurring channels in LAB mode

ternocternoc Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited March 2, 2006 in Finishing School
Hello, I am a newbie and I am discovering "the magic of LAB" in this forum.
I read an article about blurring B channel for getting rid of digital noise and I think that I could apply this technique on scans of aged slides.
I have already "trinkered" with LAB curves with good results (Photoshop CS2) but but I dont understand how to apply a blurring filter on the B channel.
Does that mean applying the B channel to the L channel ? If so what is the procedure ?
Well, could someone give a step by step kind of tutorial to overcome this problem ?
Thank you very much.
Greetings,

Comments

• cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    Hiya ternoc wave.gif

To apply a filter to a channel you need to target that channel in the Channels Palette. By default the Channels Palette shares space with the Layers Palette. If you don't see the Channels Palette you can always get to it through the Window menu.

Once you have the Channels Palette in view, click on the channel you want to target:
    58180163-O.jpg
    Notice that channel 'b' is the only highlighted channel.

Now when you run your filter, it will only affect channel b. When you are done click on the 'Lab' channel to go back to targeting all the channels.

Also note there is a short cut to target a particular channel. Notice in my screen shot that I can target channel b by pressing Ctrl + 3 (on a Mac it would be Command + 3).
  • edgeworkedgework Registered Users Posts: 257 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    cletus wrote:
    Hiya ternoc wave.gif

To apply a filter to a channel you need to target that channel in the Channels Palette. By default the Channels Palette shares space with the Layers Palette. If you don't see the Channels Palette you can always get to it through the Window menu.