What point and shoot?

PoseidonPoseidon Registered Users Posts: 504 Major grins
edited March 1, 2006 in Cameras
I have a friend at work that knows I am a photographer, and has asked for my help. Bob has asked for help choosing a camera, and I have no idea what a good P&S is. I have a 1D2N, and 20D, several L lenses, but I have to admit my ignorance in the P&S market!

Are Canon P&S cameras better then the competition?

If not what are good ones?

Is the S3 worth the wait till May?

Thank you for any input you can help me with, I want to make a good recommendation, but don't know where to start.

Oh ya, we are working with a $500 budget +/- a few bucks.
Mike LaPorte
Perfect Pix

Comments

• DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    There's lots of good p&s cameras these days. It would really help to know what he wants to shoot, indoor, outdoor, sports, landscapes, just snapshots, etc.
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    Some of the "P" Series from kodak are pretty good looking at the specs....shooting raw, raw-jpg or jpg and 12X optical zooms..........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    Art Scott wrote:
    Some of the "P" Series from kodak are pretty good looking at the specs....shooting raw, raw-jpg or jpg and 12X optical zooms..........