smug mug, sharpening and printing....

wetsandswetsands Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
edited March 3, 2006 in SmugMug Support
Hi all, I'm new to smug mug and had a question about sharpening aand prints w/ smugmug..when i print for myself i sharpen in 2 stages..the initial capture sharpen and secondly my output sharpen depending on paper size and type... Am I correct in assuming smug mug will add their own output sharpen at time of printing thus keeping me from appling my output sharpen??

It is ok to still apply my captue sharpen or will this end up leading to over sharpening??

what do most of you folks do??

thanks,
jd

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    wetsands wrote:
    Hi all, I'm new to smug mug and had a question about sharpening aand prints w/ smugmug..when i print for myself i sharpen in 2 stages..the initial capture sharpen and secondly my output sharpen depending on paper size and type... Am I correct in assuming smug mug will add their own output sharpen at time of printing thus keeping me from appling my output sharpen??

It is ok to still apply my captue sharpen or will this end up leading to over sharpening??

what do most of you folks do??

thanks,
    jd

Hi JD, Go with your normal print sharpening routine, and post a link here to a shot or two that I can look at. I'll let you know if you're on the right track.

When we make your -L, -M, -S versions, we apply a light sharpening also. This is only for the display versions - we don't add any more sharpening to your originals, from which we print.

http://www.smugmug.com/help/print-quality
  • wetsandswetsands Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
    edited March 1, 2006
    Andy wrote:
    Hi JD, Go with your normal print sharpening routine, and post a link here to a shot or two that I can look at. I'll let you know if you're on the right track.