what D2X sharpening settings does smugmug...

wetsandswetsands Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
edited March 3, 2006 in Finishing School
like for printing......

Hi all,

I'm new to smug mug and was wondering what you d2x shooters have found that works well to prepare images for the smugmug output sharpening application when they resize the images for print. I've read through the blogs about doing it in lab (Dan M 's book..which I have as well as frazer"s (s) books)...but i was wondering if anyone had found a good "recipe" to use for batch processing..I shoot in raw w/ no sharpening and convert to 16bit tiff in pscs2 to do sharpening...for the web I've been using photokit capture and output sharpening w/ real good success but others have suggested that this application is alittle to strong and w/ smugmugs added output sharpen mey be way overboard.

all comments/suggestions appreaciated..

Thanks!
jd

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2006
    I don't use a D2x but I can tell you that I rarely have to sharpen original files much, if at all, files from my 1Ds Mark II or 5D. It's not a Canon / Nikon thing, either...

If you do sharpen, what I really recommend is a generally a fairly light sharpening, not too agressive. Yeah use the LAB trick from DM - or, use PS CS2 Smart Sharpen - and always examine critically for halos and artifacts.

Make up a nice test print - one of your surfing shots would be fine. Or another type of shot. Use a fairly high, a medium, and a low amount, and then also do one with NO sharpening.

Label your pics with text - of what sharpening is done. Put them in a gallery for me, link it here, and I'll fire off some test prints for you, and for me, to review. Of course, no charge for this!

Sound good?
  • MrBook2MrBook2 Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2006
    This is great! I can't wait to hear what you guys decide. The great sharpening test of 2006...

--Aaron