Confusing Categories & Subcategories

skubeskube Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited March 9, 2006 in SmugMug Support
Hi there, I am new to the whole Smugmug experience and have so far found it interesting, albeit a tad confusing at times. I'll save my UI gripes for another thread, but I did want to voice my comments regarding the whole Categories/SubCategories/Galleries thing.

From what I've read on this forum, there have been some concerns regarding having too many categories or perhaps not enough for power users. Myself, I have found setting up categories and having to decide which photos should go where, confusing and somewhat limiting.

Looking at the web today, Google is undeniably the dominating search engine. It surpassed long ago other heavy weights such as Yahoo. Comparing Yahoo and Google - one has a Category/Subcategory model several times deep while the other is basically flat and simple. Some web experts are now agreeing that the future of successful websites hinges on fast, accurate searching and that the traditional menus may be a thing of the past.

Smugmug seems to be taking a hybrid approach, offering the ability to both categorize as well as to search. Logical, perhaps in the beginning, but short sighted in the long run. My suggestion would be to focus on one method and excel. Looking at the immensely successful Google, I think the choice is obvious. Why should one be forced into categorizing every photo, when Keywords are implicitly doing this? Looking for recent photos, Timeline is there. Looking for a John Doe's birthday photo shot in 1999, then Search.

Perhaps someone could enlighten me as to the benefits of categories. Although, I think if Smugmug is all about simplicity and ease-of use, then there is nothing more simple than asking what someone wants and then giving it to them.

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 9, 2006
    skube wrote: