Options

High key wash with one monolight

Shane422Shane422 Registered Users Posts: 460 Major grins
edited March 13, 2006 in Technique
I'm just getting started but I have gathered quite a bit of info and I know some of what I want to accomplish. I have a Nikon D50 and hope to become a strong amateur. I have a new baby and want to take the best portraits I can on a budget. I have had professional shots taken of her that I want to be able to reproduce. I think I can do most of what I want with a one monolight setup and a reflector panel as fill. But can I accomplish the high key shot where the white background is completely washed out without a seperate background light? I'm looking at the Alienbee B400 with a shoot through umbrella to start out with (~$340), but am tempted by the many multilight setups on ebay for similar prices.

I'll happily buy more lights once I prove to myself that i can really do this.

Comments

• Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited March 11, 2006
    Light is light
    You get a free light every morning and afternoon. Try using the sun to backlight a sheet. Set your camera exposure to just blow the sheet out and stay within your flash sync speed, then set your bee/reflector to provide the forward light to illuminate the subject. The color temperature of the combo should be close enought to work with.

Shane422 wrote:
    But can I accomplish the high key shot where the white background is completely washed out without a seperate background light? I'm looking at the Alienbee B400 with a shoot through umbrella to start out with (~$340), but am tempted by the many multilight setups on ebay for similar prices.

I'll happily buy more lights once I prove to myself that i can really do this.
    Creator of Dgrin's "Last Photographer Standing" contest
    "Failure is feedback. And feedback is the breakfast of champions." - fortune cookie
  • Options