Samantha home studio

MitchellMitchell Registered Users Posts: 3,503 Major grins
edited March 12, 2006 in People
Tried some shots this weekend with a single softbox to my right. In retrospect, I should have really stopped down to get the blocks in sharp focus along with her eyes. Any other comments about the lighting?

59647981-L.jpg

59649533-L.jpg

Comments

• DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited March 12, 2006
    Mitch,

I'm no lighting expert, but I can say that it's hard to judge these when they are so flat and your daughter is so blue.

I did a very rough job of setting the black and white points, and came up with these. There's a "pop" tutorial in the link in my sig, "nice tutes" or in the "How To" link in the navbar above.

Certainly a lot more could be done, but I think that those two quick adjustments make a huge difference.

59653328-M.jpg

59653346-M.jpg
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 12, 2006
    15524779-Ti.gif
  • MitchellMitchell Registered Users Posts: 3,503 Major grins
    edited March 12, 2006
    David,
    Thanks for your efforts. I've just switched over to shooting just in RAW. I'm having a tough time getting my skin tones right with ACR. I get cross-eyed after a while when playing with the temp slider. I actually did better in the past with my strobed shots when I used JPeg files. I know I have to learn how to process my RAW files better.ne_nau.gif
    edited March 12, 2006
    Mitchell wrote:
    I know I have to learn how to process my RAW files better.ne_nau.gif

That may be, but there's no reason not to do what you've always done with your JPEGs. In fact, I most often will do my best in RAW and then go further with the JPEG. But the particular problem with these images is that you didn't set your shadows or exposure high enough. Also, you could have used strong contrast, I would think.