Options

DSLR Noob: basic exposure question?

xsquiggyxsquiggy Registered Users Posts: 34 Big grins
edited March 30, 2006 in Technique
This is my first DSLR, the Nikon D-50, although I doubt the model makes any difference pertaining to my question. The last slr I shot with was the Nikon N90s, and I ALWAYS shot using aperature prioroty mode, using DOF preview to determine my aperature. Well, the D-50 doesn't have DOF preview, and I wonder if there's any benefit to using AP vs. Nikons Auto mode and just use the dial to adjust the aperature/shutter speed.

What I REALLY want to know is what mode are you guys/gals using MOST of the time for daily photography: Aperature Priority or something else?

I'm an admitted DSLR noob, and willing to learn. Thanks :D

Comments

• Options
    DanielBDanielB Registered Users Posts: 2,362 Major grins
    edited March 29, 2006
    xsquiggy wrote:
    This is my first DSLR, the Nikon D-50, although I doubt the model makes any difference pertaining to my question. The last slr I shot with was the Nikon N90s, and I ALWAYS shot using aperature prioroty mode, using DOF preview to determine my aperature. Well, the D-50 doesn't have DOF preview, and I wonder if there's any benefit to using AP vs. Nikons Auto mode and just use the dial to adjust the aperature/shutter speed.

What I REALLY want to know is what mode are you guys/gals using MOST of the time for daily photography: Aperature Priority or something else?

I'm an admitted DSLR noob, and willing to learn. Thanks :D

my camera stays in Manual mode about 99.9% of the time, it helps me hone in on my guess-check skills for settings and suchthumb.gif
    Daniel Bauer
    smugmug: www.StandOutphoto.smugmug.com

• Options
    wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited March 29, 2006
    Usually either aperature priority or manual. I don't often need to lock-in the shutter speed.
    Sid.