Dust in lens......question

GraphyFotozGraphyFotoz Registered Users Posts: 2,267 Major grins
edited April 1, 2006 in Cameras
I noticed that my Canon 75-300mm USM has dust between the 1st and 2nd elements.
Yes it does affect my pics esp shooting bird twards the sky.
I see there are 3-4 phillips screws on the 1st element.....is it safe to take apart and clean?:scratch

Looks simple but I thought I'd ask before doing!:dunno
Canon 60D | Nikon Cooloix P7700
Manfrotto Mono | Bag- LowePro Slingshot 100AW

http://www.graphyfotoz.smugmug.com/

Comments

• cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited March 31, 2006
    I see there are 3-4 phillips screws on the 1st element.....is it safe to take apart and clean?headscratch.gif

Looks simple but I thought I'd ask before doing!ne_nau.gif

I have no experience at all in what it takes to service a lens, so this is my personal opinion only: I would never, ever consider doing this myself. Maybe if I had $$ to toss out the window, and didnt care if I completely hosed my lens, I might consider it, just for fun.

A Lens is a precision instrument, and I have to imagine that a USM one is even more complex. Send it in to Canon.
  • Bob BellBob Bell Registered Users Posts: 598 Major grins
    edited March 31, 2006
    I see there are 3-4 phillips screws on the 1st element.....is it safe to take apart and clean?headscratch.gif

Looks simple but I thought I'd ask before doing!ne_nau.gif

Graphy, there is 0-1% change that you can even see an outline of the dust where it is in a picture. If you stacked up 50mm worth of Extension Tubes you might get close to seeing it.

In reality, dust in a lens has no impact. The 85mm/1.8 I sold had 20+ pieces of dust and you could never see them in a picture.

99% of the time when you see dust in an image its because of dust on the glass plate in front of the sensor.
    Bob
    Phoenix, AZ
    Canon Bodies
    Canon and Zeiss Lenses