Options

Lens Advice Needed

ShebaJoShebaJo Registered Users Posts: 179 Major grins
edited October 19, 2004 in Cameras
:dunno Hi. I just got my 20D (10-04-04), its my 1st Canon & 1st dSLR. I bought the Canon 24-85mm F3.5/4.5 USM... I intended to switch to the Canon 17-85 IS when Wolf gets it in stock. BUT... Two buddies that have the 17-85 IS say that they do not like it for closer shots, both are thinking they should switch to the 24-85. Another friend says the 28-135 IS is my best bet, also a macro and the the Canon 70-300 IS. I have no experience with Canon, need help before my 30 days at Wolf runs out. I like to shoot flowers (macro) wildlife (70-300) and landscapes... with which lens... 24-85 or the 17-85 IS or the 28-135?:dunno Thanks Sheila

Comments

• Options
    wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited October 14, 2004
    Sheila, if budget is not an issue, you could go for the pricey L glass.

16-35 2.8L
    24-70 2.8L
    70-200 2.8L
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • Options
    gubbsgubbs Registered Users Posts: 3,166 Major grins
    edited October 14, 2004
    We're in the same boat Sheila, I've just tied up a deal for a used 10D (which all being well I will pick up on Saturday). I've no lenses at all!
    I've ordered a Canon 50mm 1.4 to get me started, (Hope I've done the right thing ne_nau.gif .)
    I've no real idea what else I need, from looking at my 8080 shots I tend to shoot a lot at the wider end of the range, so I was thinking about starting with a 17-40L f4 or 16-35L f2.8 but what a price difference, and I have no feel for whether that extra speed is worth the extra cash. I was hoping that after a couple of weeks of experience with the 50mm that I'd understand what that extra stop actually means to me and then decide. Should I be considering any other lenses ?

Thanks
  • Options