that tri X pan look....err?

asamuelasamuel Registered Users Posts: 451 Major grins
edited April 6, 2006 in Finishing School
Im new, and Ive been on this forum reading stuff for about 10 hours as I am trying to clean my computer.

I tried the tri X pan look tutorial. Not sure what tri X pan is (v. crisp film?).

Anyway my results were thus. Bearing in mind its my first attempt at photoshop I hope to have a rocket fueled learning curve.

63220728-M.jpg

p.s. Im not sure Im posting in the right place. Hope so. If not soz.
p.p.s. All constructive criticism appreciated.
where's the cheese at?

http://www.samuelbedford.com

Comments

• AnthonyAnthony Registered Users Posts: 149 Major grins
    edited April 6, 2006
    asamuel wrote:
    Im new, and Ive been on this forum reading stuff for about 10 hours as I am trying to clean my computer.

I tried the tri X pan look tutorial. Not sure what tri X pan is (v. crisp film?).

Anyway my results were thus. Bearing in mind its my first attempt at photoshop I hope to have a rocket fueled learning curve.

63220728-M.jpg

p.s. Im not sure Im posting in the right place. Hope so. If not soz.
    p.p.s. All constructive criticism appreciated.

To answer your first (implied) question. Tri-X was/is a fast (for the time) black and white negative film produced by Kodak. As such, the silver grains tended to be larger for greater sensitivity and as a consequence pictures tended to have grainy look. Generally speaking the film was used for action and low light applications and the appearance is generally thought of as adding a certain 'something' to the subject matter.

From the information above, you can see that for a 'Tri-X look' you will need to convert your colour picture into a black and white one before adding the graininess.

hope this helps...

Anthony.
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited April 6, 2006