Options

Freelance Photojournalism

MTN-FreeriderMTN-Freerider Registered Users Posts: 52 Big grins
edited April 12, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
My guess is that it comes to freelance work, the old "if you have to ask you'll never know" rule is in effect. Regardless, I want to take a stab at it.

The closest I have to "experience" is doing a little (I guess this counts as freelence) photography for the Crimson White, the University of Alabama's student newspaper.

All I did was track down the editor of photography and ask him if he needed a new photographer. Since I had no experience, and wasn't a journalism or photographer major, he didn't have a place for me on staff, but he has been giving me a few assignments here and there. So far I've been enjoying it.

I'm just wondering if it is possible for me to do a little freelance work at this point?

Who should I talk to?

Should I tell them I'm a student photographer, or approach them as just another freelance journalist?

Should I ask if there's anything they need me to do, or should I just go out, take some pictures, and then try to sell them?

Should I shoot digital or film (I shoot digital for the school paper, but I like film better)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance to whoever helps me!

Comments

• Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2006
    Make it happen
    You don't have to wait for someones blessing to go take photos and sell them. If you want to take photos and sell them, then get out there and start shaking the tree.

My guess is that it comes to freelance work, the old "if you have to ask you'll never know" rule is in effect. Regardless, I want to take a stab at it.

The closest I have to "experience" is doing a little (I guess this counts as freelence) photography for the Crimson White, the University of Alabama's student newspaper.