From RAW to JPEG to BIG PRINT

redsvtredsvt Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
edited April 9, 2006 in Finishing School
I am new to this digital world, and lovin it. Anyway what is your prefered workflow to create an image to smugmug and ultimately a large print. How do you process your raw images.

Comments

• SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited April 9, 2006
    red-

couple things I do re workflow and I'm not the ipso facto guy to go to-

I shoot in raw (the files) and jpeg so I have jpeg immediately available-usually end up deleting the jpegs-

with my raw file, I adjust the white balance (good place to get the color balance right) and usually will tweak exposure, shadows, brightness, and contrast with the preview, shadows and highlights checked so more than anything I can try to keep from blowing highlights-

I then move to ps and usually work on crop, levels, curves and sharpen-

I will save the finished photo in tif and also keep the raw file--some suggest converting the raw to a dng-

if I move to sm I resize down (not much) and convert to jpeg-

I usually don't print or have a large print made-

of course, in that workflow you should have some kind of archival system developed (I'm backing up but I don't have a good system down yet)-

hope that helps and I trust you'll get some ideas from others-

best
    george
  • Mike LaneMike Lane Registered Users Posts: 7,106 Major grins
    edited April 9, 2006
    I'm just one guy, I'm sure I've got plenty to learn about this. But....

I shoot only in Raw with my 20D.