Which One?

CasonCason Registered Users Posts: 414 Major grins
edited April 24, 2006 in Cameras
First let me tell you that I like to shoot portraits, candids, animals, nature...pretty much anything and everything. Also, I'm new to SLRs. In my sig, you can see that I have a 28-105. I'm wanting to go longer. I've played around with the 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS and I do like the fact that it doesn't shake much with my in-experienced hold.

After looking at reviews and sample shots, I'm still not sure what to get. As you know, the 70-200mm f/4 L is about the same price and I see that it has awesome reviews. I realize that the price is great considering it is an "L". However, I am wondering about the extra 100mm I could get with the 70-300. I've read that it could get pretty soft when it is at 300.

Does anybody have both of these lenses and favors one over the other?
Cason

www.casongarner.com

5D MkII | 30D | 50mm f1.8 II | 85mm f1.8 | 24-70mm f2.8
L | 70-200mm f2.8L IS II | Manfrotto 3021BPRO with 322RC2

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2006
    I've had the 70-300 (but not the shorter L) and I have to agree with those reviews indicated the lens gets softer as you go longer. I started with this lens and sold it a short time later because I was unhappy with it.

I think you will have no problem finding folks here who will agree with the statement/recommendation: Buy as much quality in glass as you can afford while still getting the glass that meets your "length" needs.
  • CasonCason Registered Users Posts: 414 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2006
    Although the 70-200 is so much cheaper than any other L, is the quality still there compared to the other L lenses?

I guess if you want the more expensive ones, you are paying for the longer ones.
    Cason

www.casongarner.com

• photocatphotocat Registered Users Posts: 1,334 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2006
    RTP wrote: