Latest attempt at IR

gluwatergluwater Registered Users Posts: 3,599 Major grins
edited April 29, 2006 in Holy Macro
Well so far all my attempts at a decent IR shot have been pretty bad. I went to the Morton Arboretum today to try my luck. I think I did OK but really had to boost the exposure in post because I screwed it up royally in the field. Take a look and let me know what you think. Be harsh, I'm new to IR and can use all the help I can get.

I like this one the best, I just wish I had a more dramatic sky.
66658446-L.jpg

This is the kind of sky I wish I had in the first shot.
66658756-L.jpg

Here is a gallery with a couple others I took today, have a look.
http://gluwater.smugmug.com/gallery/1407729/1/66658446
Nick
SmugMug Technical Account Manager
Travel = good. Woo, shooting!
nickwphoto

Comments

• SushantSushant Registered Users Posts: 125 Major grins
    edited April 28, 2006
    It looks like you did a good job taking the pictures and post processing them. Skies are dark, leaves are white, and no visible blowouts. Just some issues with composition but that's a battle in all photographs. BTW, did you do some sharpening? The second pic seems like it could use some more.
    - Sushant

http://sushant.smugmug.com
    sony dsc-v3, p200, toshiba pdr-3300, canon xt-350d
  • David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,237 moderator
    edited April 28, 2006
    I know both those spots well, and have shots almost identical (just not IR's :cry ). Some day. Some day.

Just got the property tax bill today. Way higher. Why does the universe not want me to spend money on (yet more) photo gear?