Options

Priced artsy digital downloads? Good idea??

peestandinguppeestandingup Registered Users Posts: 489 Major grins
edited May 3, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
So, im a blooming semi-pro photographer & am just about to put my new DSLR to work. I dont really do event stuff & I usually concentrate on contemporary art images, so im getting some stuff together for local art exibits. I definitely wanna offer everything I have & show at these exibits on my website for print purchases.

Now the big question is, should I also offer those shots as a paid digital download for people using Paypal buttons like some fellow smugmuggers are already doing? Or, do you all think this will "cheapen" things a bit & make things look a little low class?? Because people who buy this sorta stuff want to feel like its a one of a kind, know what I mean? But in that logic, I shouldnt offer prints of these images online either, but that defeats the purpose of showing them on Smugmug. Also, if I offer downloads, the full-sized image will be out in the wild & this opens up a whole new can of worms for copying & such.

Im torn between this because one of the things I really dug from the beginning was the ability for people to download the originals from my site. So, I wanna make things easy for people & give them choices, but I dont want people to abuse that either with my art. I wish there were such a thing a DRM (Digital Rights Management) for photos.

What do you all think I should do?

Comments

• Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited May 3, 2006
    I think you are over-thinking this. Choose one direction to go in. If you want to limit the prints (or whatever) to make the availability low and the prices high, then do that. If you want to sell many copies to many people, then do that. But I don't think you can really do both.