Senior Portraits - Reviews Needed Please

CheerdadCheerdad Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited May 5, 2006 in People
I was asked by two teenagers I know to take their senior pictures...they wanted some done and didn't have the money to go to a professional photographer, so I offered to help. I am an action photographer 90% of the time and portraiture is very new to me.

Gallery: http://cheerdad.smugmug.com/gallery/1409972

I had three issues to address with these images:
1. Hard light on the face
2. Underexposed background (appeared gray, not white)
3. Skin problems on the male

My first attempt to fix in Photoshop lead to very, very red pictures which did not print well at all! The images currently in the gallery have been redone with an eye toward removing as much red cast as possible, while brightening up the overall image and improving skin tone. The closep of the male is my main concern since I had to do alot of work to perform a skin fix.

I do not work with a hardware calibrated monitor (that is next on my to-do list) so I am asking for anyone who may have a calibrated monitor and is willing to help to look at these and let me know the good, the bad and the ugly. Their first order was so bad I can't bring myself to even show them how they came out.

Time is critical for them since they want to include wallets of some of these images in their senior announcements. My hope is to have the new order out today.

Lessons learned from this:
- Need a better place to take the images - more controlled environment
- Need proper light metering capability - prevents a host of problems, I know
- Correct for the red color cast before taking the images - got it now
- Portrait photography is as hard as I thougth it would be

Thanks in advance for any assistance!
Cheerdad
"People who think cheerleading is not a 'real' sport have obviously never tried to do it" :D

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited May 4, 2006