Resolution / Compression question...

GaryBakkerGaryBakker Registered Users Posts: 266 Major grins
edited May 11, 2006 in SmugMug Support
I'm a newbie both here and at SmugMug. I'm still in the process of uploading my library of photos. Per this message board and the information at SmugMug I've been batch processing my photos through Photoshop Elements to save them as JPEG 10 before uploading.

My question is should I change my camera's compression settings to avoid this process, and for my Canon cameras what is the appropriate setting?

We have four Canon cameras in our family: A Digital Rebel, an A95, an SD450, and an S1 IS.

I checked the possible settings for the Rebel:
Resolution options:
L (3072x2048)
M (2048x1360)
S (1536x1024)
Compression options:
Fine
Normal

For the A95:
Resolution options:
L (2592x1944)
M1 (2048x1536)
M2 (1600x1200)
S (640x480)
Compression options:
Superfine
Fine
Normal

I didn't check the other two cameras, but I'm sure they'll offer similar options.

We've all been taking photos at the largest resolution and the best compression. (Well, my son with the S1 IS says he takes his pictures usually with the M1 resolution setting.)

Unfortunately Canon doesn't really say what their compression settings really mean. What compares to the Photoshop JPEG 10 setting?

And do I really want to set my camera to take lower compression photos? (Most articles I found on the web seem to talk about JPEG quite negatively due to it being a lossy format, and recommend using the highest quality camera settings.)

Advice and counsel will be warmly accepted.

(By the way, I'll be away from a computer all day today so if I don't respond to your answers right away, please be understanding.)

Regards,
Gary
SmugMug site => The Bakker Chautauqua
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits." (Einstein)

Comments

• DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited May 9, 2006