30D Goes Jazz

NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
edited May 13, 2006 in People
Every year about this time Thousand Oaks' Civic Arts Performance Arts Center hosts local school district jazz festival.

Several school bands join together to present this gala-show. From total beginners to seasoned veterans, playing both separately and together, it is usually pure fun for both performers and the audience.

I've been to these events before, but this was the first time for me to use my Canon 30D and its amazing ISO 3200 capabilities in this large concert hall environment :clap . The pictures below were taken RAW and simply converted to JPEGs, I didn't even have to apply neither NN nor NI :-).

Most of the pictures in the gallery (except first few and #1 in this post) were taken with EF 100-400L IS, handheld, from the very back of the main sitting area (under sound control booth).

Here are a few shots.

#1: General view (note the dark rows far back):

68794747-L.jpg

#2: Front row trombone soloist:

68795776-L.jpg

#3: Far back rows - still in the dark (remember? no post processing!):

68797089-L.jpg

#4: Middle row flute players (can I call it "Red, White and Blue?" :-) :

68797038-L.jpg

#5: Remember far back rows?:

68797618-L.jpg

#6: Far back rows - now up close:

68798253-L.jpg

The rest of the pictures: http://nik.smugmug.com/gallery/1445603

Enjoy shooting musicians:-)
"May the f/stop be with you!"

Comments

• LittleLewLittleLew Registered Users Posts: 368 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2006
    IMO, #2 would be much improved if you cropped tighter, leaving just the two figures on the right. That focus's attention on the female trumpeter with the boy to her left as a supporting image. Having all 3 figures diffuses the impact.

If you like I will send you a cropped image.

LL
    New pictures at LewLortonphoto.com
  • NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2006
    Ll,
    LittleLew wrote: